Members of the Hyco Road Ruritan Club are selling Vidalia onions to promote higher education through their Frazier Pool Memorial Scholarship Fund.

Orders are currently being taken for onions that will arrive the first week in May, weather permitting.

The onions are $10 per 10-pound bag, and April 15 is the deadline for ordering onions and for the club to accept scholarship applications this year.

Applications for the scholarships can be obtained from any club member or the Halifax County High School guidance department as well as from the Southern Virginia Higher Education Center.

Those interested in placing an order for onions can do so by contacting any member of the Hyco Road Ruritan Club or by calling Ray Bowen at 572-3818, Paula Bryant at 572-7135, Bob Ford at 575-7605, Kenneth Irby at 572-4677, Bonnie Bowen at 579-0895 or Ricky Pool at 572-1325.

Members will deliver the onions to those who have placed an order, according to Hyco Road Ruritan Club President Brien Pugh.

Recipes for the sweet Vidalia onions can be found at

Hyco Road Ruritan Club established the Frazier Pool Memorial Scholarship Fund in 2004 for those in the community who wish to further their education, with the Hyco Road Ruritan Club administering the fund.

Members donate their time and resources to this project each year so that 100% of the profits go into the club treasury from which the scholarships are supported.

Over the past 15 years, the club has awarded scholarships totaling approximately $49,000, with the scholarships awarded each June at the Hyco Road Ruritan Club’s regular monthly meeting.

The club’s active membership includes Donna Anderson, William Anderson, Ricky Barber, Bonnie Bowen, Ray Bowen, Wayne Bowen, Paula Bryant, Henry Buchanan, David Comer, Dax Elliott, Gene Faucette, Brenda Ford, Hunter Ford, Robert Ford, Jacob Gravitt, Michael Gravitt, Ann Nichole Henderson, Madisyn Henderson, Kenneth Irby, Mary Jo Irby, Mitchell Martin, Bobby Murray, Henry Owen, Ricky Pool, Brien Pugh, Leon Reed, Linda Reed, Frank Shealy, Kim Shealy, Nat Terry and Donnie Wilkerson.