The board of trustees of the Danville-based J.T.- Minnie Maude Charitable Trust announced in October 2007 and formed through the generosity of James T. Emerson recently announced that $1.14 million has been awarded in scholarships to 409 students for the 2021-22 academic school year. 

The trust offers scholarship opportunities to students who reside in Caswell, Halifax, Henry, Pittsylvania and Rockingham counties including all towns or cities located within these five counties.  Individual scholarship amounts have ranged from $500 to $7,500.          

Award recipients were selected based on academic success and promise, financial need and other selection criteria.  Scholarships are generally renewable, provided the student continues to meet all scholarship criteria.  

The number of award recipients listed directly correlates to the number of applications received from each county.  Interested students and parents are encouraged to visit the trust’s website at  

Halifax County recipients include William Jackson Abdi, Justin Tyler Bates, Abigail Faith Briscoe, Katie Elizabeth Cole, Anthony William Conner, Joseph Curtis Duffer, Morgan Elizabeth Epperson, Erin Zoe Glass, Ellie Josephine Hall, Andrew Scott Hansen, Nicholas Malcolm Harris, Dylan Thomas Irby, Deaundra Noelle Jeffress, Mary Carrington McLaughlin, Lauryn Angel Miller, Alyssa Anne Mitchell, Dezheona Monea Mitchell, Sophie Elizabeth Moore, Paige Marie Nichols, Stanley Leo Noblin, Alexandra Connally Reddy, Rodney T Scott Jr., Amelia Faith Simmons, Alyssa Lanier Spencer, Kayla Nicole Spencer, Kayla Rene’e Townes, Kayla Brook Watts, Lacey Faith Wilborn, Sydney Grace Wilborn and Joseph Marshall Wilson.