Heidi Hudson Ward

Superintendent Dr. Mark Lineburg recognizes Heidi Ward of Sydnor Jennings Elementary School as the 2019 Halifax County Teacher of the Year.

It was no longer Teacher Appreciation Week on Thursday, but that did not stop the accolades from coming for those who mentor children daily and help inspire a passion of learning during the Halifax County Public School’s Staff Appreciation Celebration held Thursday at the South Boston Volunteer Company Support Center.

Not only were local teachers given a special thank you, but other support staff such as custodians and secretaries were recognized as well with the addition to the night of recognitions, the Excellence of Service Award.

Taking home the highest award, the Halifax County Teacher of the Year award, was Heidi Ward of Sydnor Jennings Elementary School.

In addition to the award, Ward received a television and $500.

Also nominated for the Halifax County Teacher of the Year Award were Tamara Neal of South Boston/Halifax Early Learning Center, Virginia Guzman of Clays Mill Elementary, Amanda Hite of Cluster Springs Elementary, Kimberly W. Williams, Meadville Elementary, Pamela Blanks of Scottsburg Elementary, Meredith Fears of Sinai Elementary, Amanda Shepperd of South Boston, Heidi Ward of Sydnor Jennings Elementary, Gloria M. Coles of Halifax County Middle School and Melissa Peacock of Halifax County High School.

This year’s recipient of the Excellence in Service Award was Lisa H. McEntyre, a LAN manager at Sydnor Jennings Elementary School.

In addition to the award, McEntyre also received $500 and a television.

Also nominated for the Excellence of Service Award were Penny H. Carey, HCPS food service employee, Clays Mill Elementary; Donna L. Hastings, paraprofessional, Halifax County High School; Freda H. Powell, school bus driver, Sinai Elementary; Gary G. Brogdon, school custodian, Clays Mill Elementary; Rita Garber, LPN, school nurse, Scottsburg Elementary; Phyllis G. Epps, school secretary, Meadville Elementary; and Lisa H. McEntyre, other related support services, Sydnor Jennings Elementary.

Halifax County Public School staff members also were recognized Thursday for 20 years of service, 25 years of service, 30 years of service, 35 years of service and 40 years of service.

Recognized for 20 years of service were Kathy Young Ambrose, Penny H. Carey (21 years), Angela Scott Collins, Sherrey Deel, Elizabeth M. Epperson, Audrey Dale Francisco, David Graham, Patricia Davis Johnson, Cynthia J. Loftis, Virginia J. New, Suzanne R. Powell, Jennifer D. P. Slagle, Sherry Tucker and Debra Woltz.

Recognized for 25 years of service were Robin Anderson, Kathy D. Bowen (aide), Lynn Carr, Sheila B. Henderson, Cheryl A. Kashmer, Sherry P. Link, Muriel Marable-White, Vickie W. Powell and Tina S. Waller.

Recognized for 30 years of service were Phyllis G. Epps, Deborah B. Patrick, Lanette D. Spencer, Gladys McCargo Townsend and Constance Troy.

Recognized for 35 years of service were Benita Daniels Bagwell, Jeff Edmonds, Eleanor B. Knowlson, Jonathan Medley, Barbara Owen, Vivian Puryear and Libby Slagle.

Recognized for 40 years of service were Kathy D. Bowen (bus driver) Marva Humphrey Johnson and Wanda G. Williamson.

Retirees for the 2019-19 school year also were recognized including Jonathan Chandler, HCHS teacher; Brenda L. Claughton, HCMS custodian; Laura Edwards, STEM Center teacher; Floyd G. Fields, STEM Center teacher; Charles H. Garrett, Scottsburg custodian; Toni Chism Jennings, HCMS paraprofessional; Anne Garner Meeks, Cluster Springs teacher; Gary A. Newcomb, HCHS teacher; June G. Ramsey, HCHS teacher; Connie R. Slagle, Sydnor Jennings Elementary teacher; and Annie Terry, HCHS food service worker.

The jazz band at Halifax County High School under the direction of Director Dominic Stephens provided music.