The Halifax County FFA Chapter hosted its annual banquet inside the Halifax County High School cafeteria on April 11 attended by community supporters who crowded inside to enjoy a barbecue dinner and door prizes while celebrating this year’s accomplishments.

Special guests in attendance included Superintendent Dr. Mark Lineburg, school board members Joseph Gasperini, Sandra Garner-Coleman and Todd Moser.  

Featured speakers included Halifax County Farm Bureau President Scott Crowder and Virginia State FFA President Ethan Jackson and State FFA Treasurer Ruth Fitzgerald.

Katelyn Cash gave an emotional farewell address, and new officers were recognized.

The following members were elected as chapter officers for the coming year: President Dylan Irby; Vice President Tylik Elam; Secretary James Saunders; Treasurer Joseph Wilson; Reporter Sabrina Covington; and Sentinel Michael Satterfield.  Junior officers elected were President Bethany Comer; Vice President Katelin Snead; Secretary Landon Morgan; Reporter Ahric Gotham; and Sentinel William Anderson.

Comer and Tia Waller received their Greenhand degree, the first award that may be achieved in high school.  Saunders was honored as the Star Greenhand. Natalia Howell, Wilson, Saunders, Gotham and Modi received the Chapter Degree, the highest degree awarded at the chapter level. Jessica Overby was awarded the Star Farmer Award, and Katelin Cash was awarded the Dekalb Agricultural Accomplishment Award given to the outstanding senior

Competition teams also were recognized for their accomplishments.  At the State FFA Convention held last June, the avian bowl team consisting of Jordan Walker, Cash, Overby and Irby placed first in the state.  The forestry judging team competed in the Southeast Area Forestry Judging contest in Powhatan County on Nov. 14. Team members Irby, Satterfield, Wilson and Casey Garland competed and placed third in the area.  Irby placed first in the individual competition this year. The food science and technology team of Elam, Hannah Ward, John Hailey and Megan Martin placed second in the area.

From Nov. 24-27, five students, Irby, Elam, Satterfield, Howell and Cora Domenici along with chapter advisors attended the National FFA Convention in Indianapolis Indiana.  

Jasmine Vaughan, HCHS class of 2016, accompanied the group and received her American Degree, the highest degree that may be achieved in the FFA.

Chapter Advisors Don Reese, Megan Harris and Ellen Crowder, along with the entire membership of the Halifax County FFA Chapter expressed thanks to all of the sponsors, parents and others who have helped to make this such a successful year.