June primary elections will be held Tuesday.

They originally were set for June 9, but were pushed back to June 23 after Virginia Gov. Ralph Northam issued an executive order.

Residents will have the chance to vote for the 5th Congressional District and U.S. Senate when they go to the polls from 6 a.m. until 7 p.m.

As long as a voter is in line by 7 p.m., the resident will be able to vote, according to the Virginia Department of Elections.

Four candidates on the ballot for the 5th Congressional District include R. D. Huffstetler Jr. of Charlottesville, B. Cameron Webb of Charlotteville, Clair C. Russo of Earlysville and John D. Lesinski of Washington.

The Republican Party nominee for the 5th District is Bob Good of Campbell County; he defeated incumbent Rep. Denver Riggleman at a June 13 convention.

The statewide primary for the Republican Party’s nominee for U.S. Senate features three candidates including Alissa Baldwin of Lunenburg County, Daniel Gade of Alexandria and Thomas Speciale of Woodbridge.

The Democratic Party will not hold a Senate primary. Sen. Mark Warner, who was first elected to the seat in 2008, is unopposed for his party’s nomination.

The Virginia Department of Elections encourages voters to protect their health during COVID-19 outbreak, and strongly encouraged voting absentee.

Saturday was the last day to vote in-person absentee ballot at the Halifax County Voter Registration and Elections Office.

June 16 was the last day to request an absentee ballot by mail.

All absentee voted ballots must be returned to the office by 7 p.m. Tuesday to be counted.

For more information, contact Heather Harding, general registrar and director of elections at P.O. Box 40, Halifax, VA 24558-0400, call 434-476-3322 or email hharding@co.halifax.va.us.