Another political newcomer has surfaced to be on the Nov. 5 ballot seeking a seat on the Halifax County Board of Supervisors.

Darby McGeorge has been certified to have his name placed on the ballot running for the ED-1 seat, according to Halifax County Registrar Heather Harding.

Another Nathalie resident, Calvin “Ricky” Short, also previously was certified to have his name placed on the ballot for the seat currently held by ED-1 Supervisor J. T. Davis.

As of Thursday morning, the incumbent had not picked up a packet of paperwork to get the 125 required signatures to have his named placed on the ballot.

When recently asked if he planned to seek re-election to a seat he has held since August 2008 when he was appointed to serve out the balance of former ED-1 Supervisor Dickie Abbott’s term, Davis said he is undecided.

Tracy Q. Martin, commonwealth’s attorney, also has been certified to have her named placed on the ballot as of Wednesday, as she seeks a second four-year term as county prosecutor.

No other individuals have picked up a packet to run against her.

Other individuals who have picked up packets to run for seats on the board supervisors are current ED-4 supervisor and board of chairman Dennis Witt, Robert Smart and James “Jimmy” Wade, both expressing interest in the ED-5 seat, and incumbent ED-7 Supervisor Garland Ricketts.

These individuals have picked up the necessary paperwork to run, but as of Thursday morning they had not submitted petitions with the necessary signatures to be certified to have their names placed on the Nov. 5 ballot, Harding said.

Individuals who have picked up packets to run for Halifax County School Board as of Thursday morning include current ED-1 Trustee Orey Hill, current ED-5 Trustee Freddie Edmunds and Vince Newton, who is seeking the ED-7 seat currently held by Monty Lowery.

As of Thursday morning, Lowery had not picked up a packet, Harding said.

Republican Grove resident Patricia “Kathy” Fraley has been certified to have her name on the ballot to run for the ED-1 Halifax County School Board seat.