Halifax Soil and Water Conservation District hosted its annual awards banquet earlier this month and bestowed its most prestigious award on Scott Hudson who farms in the Virgilina community.

Approximately 70 invited guests, district directors and staff were in attendance as the District Director Bruce Pearce recognized efforts of Hudson with presentation of the 2016 Outstanding Cooperator Award, given annually to individuals who do an outstanding job of conserving natural resources and cooperating with the Soil and Water Conservation District on implementing conservation.

Hudson has been involved in Soil and Water Conservation District and USDA programs to reduce erosion and manage animal waste. He has been a proponent of implementing soil health measures such as cover crops and strip-till tobacco, Pearce said.

Dr. Bobby Hall, district director and education/youth activities chairman, presented the Wildlife Food Patch Contest Awards to the young conservationists who had outstanding food plots in the annual competition sponsored by the district and Pennington Seed, Inc.

This year seed packets and planting instructions were made available to 11 area youth.

This year’s winners were Savannah Terrell (first place tied), Noah Terrell (first place tied), Caleb Bomar (second place), Austin Crews (third place), Jacob Gravitt (fourth place tied) and Noah Waller (fourth place tied).

Rick Brown, conservation specialist with Halifax Soil and Water Conservation District, presented Jim Zeigler with the 2017 Wildlife Conservation Award.

Zeigler has been a strong proponent of beekeeping and pollinator habitat protection in Halifax County and also has been a great cooperator with the Soil and Water Conservation District to educate youth and adults on the importance of pollinators.

Trevor Simmons with the Virginia Department of Forestry recognized J. G. Hurts for outstanding accomplishments in forestry.

Burke discussed his concern for the land and forests and described the work he has done over the years and continues to do on his property.

Larry Layman, district director and vice chairman, presented the 2017 Clean Water Farm Award to Earl McDaniel.

The Clean Water Farm Award was established by Governor Baliles in 1986 to recognize deserving farmers and landowners who practice good conservation practices to improve Water Quality.

McDaniel has implemented over 25,000 feet of stream exclusion and 22 acres of riparian buffer.